top of page

Assignment #26: Mentorship Reflection


I thoroughly enjoyed my experience at Milan Eye Center. I gained so much information on ophthalmology and the field of medicine in general. I was able to form connections with doctors that otherwise I may not have had the opportunity to create. They were able to give me great advice on what to study as an undergraduate student and on getting into medical school. To get the most out of my experience, I made sure to ask questions when I wanted to learn more about a particular topic. They were always willing to explain everything to me, which I appreciated very much.

This mentorship has prepared me not only for college but also life after school. I was able to experience firsthand what to expect when working in the medical field and learn how to demonstrate professionalism in a real-world setting. Most importantly, this mentorship allowed me to discover ophthalmology – a division of medicine I had always had my heart set on studying. After mentoring at Milan Eye Center, I realized that I may want to explore other areas of medicine. While ophthalmology certainly peaks my interest, I no longer feel that it is the only topic I wish to study.

The advice I would give to future students is to work to create a strong relationship with your mentor. This is an opportunity that not very many high school students get so it is important to make the most of it. Ask questions, show interest, come in with a great attitude each day, and most importantly, show your appreciation. Remember, they are taking time out of their day to teach you. Try to stay in touch with your mentor even after the program ends – don’t let the whole school year go to waste. Continue to learn and create opportunities for yourself in the future. Overall, I had a great experience with the Honors Mentorship Program and would recommend it to any hardworking student.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page